Celebrating Father’s Day at Kuya J

I’ve been a father for more than 6 years now, and have 3 kids, and have loved every messy minute of it. It was the most terrifying experience ever and it’s been the most rewarding thing I’ve ever done. I ultimately made the choice to model something different to my children so that they would not experience what I did growing up…lack of love, distance, and disconnected relationships. Whenever I see my wife and kids happy, I know that I’m doing something good in my life.

IMG_9931

This year, my wife surprised me to a lunch date at Kuya J in SM San Mateo to celebrate Father’s Day. Kuya J is a Cebu-based restaurant and is one of the fastest rising Filipino restaurants in the Philippines that offer delicious Filipino food such as kare-kare, crispy pata, caldereta, pochero, and lechon kawali in a homey atmosphere. Jericho Rosales is the official brand ambassador of the chain.

IMG_9961

We were welcomed by their staff to the extent that I feel like we’re family. The ambiance of the restaurant is warm and cozy, as if it was our second home.

IMG_9891IMG_9892IMG_9893IMG_9908

Let’s take a look at their food.

IMG_9939
Crab Rice- Php175.00

Crab rice taste good but I can’t find even a single piece of crab meat or trace.

IMG_9947
Palabok- Php165.00

All of these danced in a great harmony producing a well-balanced overall taste.

IMG_9941
Kuya J’s Fried Chicken (Half)- Php245.00

Friend Chicken is an all-time kid’s favorite and it’s real delectable crisp made it really enjoyable to indulge on. Plus, the meat was all tender and the overall flavor was light and balanced, enough to tickle my palate.

IMG_9938
Beef Caldereta- Php335.00

This Beef Caldereta was incredible that blended nicely with the Crab rice. The dish was made well, and in fact it’s one of my favorites.

Overall, my family and I had a great dining experience at Kuya J. It was indeed a memorable Father’s Day for me. My first job as a father is to love my kids and to be there for them. Of course, I need to keep them safe and fed and clothed and change their diapers — keep them alive — and that’s important. But let’s consider that the baseline — it’s not hard to keep a child alive into adulthood. Anyone can do it with a smidgen of effort. If at the end of my life I can say that I was there for my kids, and they felt loved, then I can say that I’ve succeeded. I will continue to love them for the rest of my life. Happy Father’s Day to me and to all the brave and loving fathers in the world.

IMG_9911

Kuya J
SM City San Mateo, Gen Luna Ave
San Mateo, Rizal

7 thoughts on “Celebrating Father’s Day at Kuya J

Leave a Reply

